Editing, editing, editing…

If there is one thing that will tire your brain out after seven straight hours, it’s editing. I am to the point of nit picking at absolutely every single minor detail, and it is starting to drive me crazy. I might be better off just letting it go as is, but I can’t really do that. I am on my third draft of my first book and I can’t really justify just going with it right now because I am finding teeny tiny errors.

Bottom line, my first manuscript and I have had a relationship for over a year now. It’s time to break up. Its been long, hard, and even though we had some great times, especially in the beginning, our relationship must come to an end soon.

I would love to hire a copy editor to help me out. I really would. But as of this moment, I am counting on my years and years of professional English tutelage for my edits. I want an editor, I would kill for one. I just can’t afford it. And all the ones worth having are booked weeks or months out. Bottom line, if I get too many reviews back saying that it is littered with grammatical errors, I will pull it and edit it again. No other option at this point. I have read a ton of blogs that say, “Well, if you don’t get it copy edited, then you really don’t care about your work.” Uh, BULLSHIT!! I just can’t shovel out $300-$1000 right now. I just plain don’t have the money. I am trying to get my own place, and I need ever single spare dime in the couch right now. I also have student loans riding my back. So whatever asshole came up with the idea that you are not a real writer, or you don’t care about the outcome of your story if you don’t get a copy editor or some nonsense like that, is on my shit list!! I was the one in school that all the foreign kids came to for help  on editing their papers into English, so don’t give me that crap! (Okay, rant done).

In good news, I did buy my cover (the only thing that I afford at this time as it was only $30).  The cover art is so gorgeous and it fits my story beautifully. It’s mystical, magical and ahhh-mazing! I almost started crying when I first saw it with my book title and my name on it. I can’t wait to see it up on the Kindle website.

I have been thinking a lot lately on how other writers/authors work. i have read about so many ebook authors who literally write a full length novel in a month or a couple of weeks. Some people can do that brilliantly, others, not so much. Given my home life right now, that is not really a feasible option. I managed to finish my previous book in two months and that was really pushing it for me. I hear about authors like Stephen King or some such famous person that writes 10,000 words a day no matter what. But my question is, is this kind of work conducive to great writing? Or is it just get as much material out there as soon as possible? I have never known anyone who can write that much and not have it read like word upchuck. It might get the story knocked out, but eventually reviews will pour in about the low quality of the writing.

I usually try for 4,000 words a day when I am writing a book. That has always seemed like a fair and perfectly obtainable goal. Does anyone else have a particular work count that they strive for?

*~*~*~*~*

Sign up for my newsletter: http://brefaucheux.us7.list-manage.com/subscribe/post?u=e371f047315476f25a9dd4c2f&id=5ebefac58b

3 comments

  1. Brefaucheux

    Okay, let’s began! Brefaucheux you on the right track my friend. Editing can get tiresome and complicated, when we are doing too much at the same time. The key and trick to this thing is quite simply. We both have a love passion for writing; don’t kill it with unnecessary burdens. It’s not a law or rule that we should write 10,000 words a day to become a top seller. For example, I see TV evangelist put out a book every 3-6 mouth and be on New York bestseller. I’m not a TV evangelist or anything like that but one thing I do know is they aren’t writing 10,000 words a day. What they the do is write or speak sermon, and turn them into books. I think the key thing for us is to love what we do, and have fun. Not forgetting why we started writing in the first place. When we do this everything else will seem to flow and fall into place. Sometime that mean we might have to write 2,000 words a day, then edit. Some days we might have to write 4,000 that day and the next day just edit. On other days you might just do research on the topic. If we don’t mix fun with our practice, then none of us is going to like writing. The more we practice and feel inspire to write the more our words will increase. Stephen King just didn’t wake up one morning and start writing 10,000 words a day. It’s a progressive habit he developed over 35 year of writing. If anybody wants to compete with that go luck, I’ll take my chances building a fan base.

    As far as editors fuck’em! Some of them take away the rawness of the material. Starting out with kindle an editor isn’t necessary. Now if Tate publishing offers you a deal, then yeas get an editor ASAP. As long as the people understand your point and your message is getting across, then you good.

    ~ Alex

  2. Reblogged this on alexbelton86 and commented:
    Ever get tired of editing? Check this out!

  3. Thank you once again for your encouraging words. They really made my day, yet again. And you are so right. I needed someone to tell me that I was taking the editing a bit too hard and put some perspective on it. I am my own worst critic.

    It is good to know that the standards on Kindle ebooks is a little less intense than if I were doing traditional publishing. My worst fear is to get reviews based on the horrible grammar, so I am trying really hard to do my best.

    It is also interesting to hear that editors often scalp a story of the grit. I guess I will just get a proof-reader overtime because the last thing I need is someone trying to strip my writing. Hell, that was why I got out of journalism. And I had enough teachers tearing down my writing over the years.

    I used to edit my writing from the day the very next day before doing my writing for that current day. I completely forgot that until you brought it up. I need to incorporate that into my routine again.

    Thanks for the tips and encouragement. And thank you for reblogging my entries. That is a first for me. Very cool. Appreciate it.

    -Bre

Leave a reply

