Props to the Great ‘George Carlin’

It is my personal opinion that George Carlin was one of the funniest, smartest, quirkiest, amusing, and realistic men who has ever graced people with his presence. And seeing him on TV last night really reminded me of how much I adore him, and miss him.

This man made me proud to know that I wasn’t the only one out there who sees things the way that I do, and that I am not the only one who thinks the entire world is fucked up, but it’s nothing to get depressed over. As the great George Carlin once said, “Kids who want to read are gonna read. Better to teach kids to question what they read.”

The man who said great things like:

– “Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?”

– “Inside every cynical person, there is a disappointed idealist.”

– “The other night I ate at a real nice family restaurant. Every table had an argument going.”

– “One tequila, two tequila, three tequila, floor!”

– “Women are crazy, and men are stupid. And the main reason why women are crazy, is because men are stupid.”

And my personal favorite:

“Religion has actually convinced people that there’s an invisible man living in the sky who watches everything you do, every minute of every day. And the invisible man has a special list of ten things he does not want you to do. And if you do any of these ten things, he has a special place, full of fire and smoke and burning and torture and anguish, where he will send you to live and suffer and burn and choke and scream and cry forever and ever ’til the end of time… But He loves you. He loves you, and He needs money!”

Every once in a while, I need to go on YouTube and give myself the treat of a George Carlin marathon. He balances me out and I pretty much agree with every single thing he says. I think my sense of humor is along the same lines. For example, over a year ago when living in the UK, I got off the tube and waltzed out onto the Camden exit from the station. A man with a big mic was announcing to people “THIS JUST IN!! None of you are allowed to go home tonight and have sex, because the last thing we need in this world is more people like you!” Many people were probably offended. Where as I bursted out laughing… mainly because I got the joke. Then the man pointed directly at me and said, “Except you.” I guess I qualify for reproduction because I got the point of the dark sense of humored joke.

I have a lot of these kinds of moments in my next book. I am trying to write from a younger teen level point of view. Which is difficult for me because I was never really a teenager. I went from toddler to adult and was just plain BORN OLD. But I added a bunch of snarky responses for my main character in hopes that it might show that even people who were inevitably born old or had to grow up fast, can have a sophisticated sense of humor that anyone can find funny.

I am a little scared of my character just coming across as bitchy and whiney and complaining all the time. But my instincts are telling me, that is just my sense of humor at play. So for those who like the darker side of things, especially when it comes to humor, will get it. Others, not so much.

This is going to make for some very interesting reviews.

Love it or hate it, having a dark sense of humor gives you a new way to look at the world. George Carlin taught me that.

Are there any comedians who inspire you?

Oh!! And Billy Connolly is high on my list too!

*~*~*~*~*

Sign up for my newsletter: http://brefaucheux.us7.list-manage.com/subscribe/post?u=e371f047315476f25a9dd4c2f&id=5ebefac58b

2 comments

  1. I like a little Monty Python for the days Carlin’s humour doesn’t match mine.

    1. Monty Python is great! We used to quote it in history class. “No one predicted the Spanish Inquisition.” 😉

Leave a reply

