To Novella or Not to Novella?

So I had a random thought last night after doing an extreme amount of Google-ing. It might be a terrible idea, but I am getting more and more into it as the hours go by.

Big idea: Turn “The Elder Origins” into a novella series. About 80-100 pages per book. Turn all the “part 1, part 2, and part 3” into separate books.

Why: Several reasons.

I notice that novellas are doing well on Amazon right now.

Second, the books are not selling well. At all. I need some new ideas.

Third, I think they would do better that way. I know that they are a bit obscure and most people will read them and go WTF is this? I just always had that feeling about them. It’s not that I don’t have confidence in them. I’m just aware that a vampire story set in the 14th century in England makes people’s eyes roll.

Also, the ending is very open ended. The ended to each part of it is, actually. So wouldn’t it be better if I had a cliff hanger on each “part/book/novella” rather than an open ended ending to a large novel that leaves people totally confused.

I have no reviews, and not so many ratings. So it might just be better to start fresh with the series as a novella. I also thought that this way, I wouldn’t feel so pressured to write out a whole book. I can write out about 100 pages and that is the story. I can always leave the ending open so I can have people wanting more for the next short book.

Thoughts? Ideas?

I dunno. I look at my book sales and I know that something needs to change, or be done differently. I did different tags on my book through Amazon, and that essentially did nothing. So what do I do to get my books seen? Or noticed even a little. The truth is, vampire fiction is completely over done. Just FINDING my book is a barrel unless you know its out there. And I have followed every bit of advice I could according to the internet machine. Only thing I have yet to do is to make paperbacks. And I don’t want to do that until I decide about the novella situation.

I saw a lot about another author on Amazon who did this and has had some success with it. So it made me wonder if it is a good idea. Not to mention that it would help me to have 4 books out there right now instead of two. Which means more exposure.

Don’t get me wrong. It’s not like I am doing this for the money. I’m not. But I would like to think that at least someone out there in the cyber sphere is reading what I write. Those writers who say that if no one ever wrote their material for the rest of their lives, would still write books, are lying. We all want our stories to be read or appreciated to SOME degree. And this might be the step I need to get that done.

*shrugs*

Decisions decisions…

PS – I will still write full length novels in addition to them. I just thought having shorter stories in the mix would greatly help me out. I need more material out there and I don’t have what it takes to write full length novels in one month. I just don’t have the patience or the mind set. Or the time. One every two months however, is conceivable.

7 comments

  1. I don’t have much advice, since I have zero experience with publishing and generating traffic on Amazon. However, I don’t think the novella thing is a bad idea. They’re more popular now, especially with ebooks and I think you’re right: it might give you more exposure having more books.

    1. Yeah, I’m not sure what the right choice is either. But I think that more books will equal more traffic in the long run. And I don’t have it in me to write a huge sequel to the story right now. A novella I can do. Novel, just don’t have the capacity right now.
      Thank you for your input. Always love your comments.

  2. I think it can’t hurt to try. One thing you can try is to split it into the three novellas, and offer the first for free or a low price to get people interested in the series. That’s something I’ve been thinking of doing.

    I’m actually prepping a novella for publication, to be followed with a short novel sometime this summer. So, reading that novellas are doing well on Amazon is helpful news.

    1. That is a really good idea. I definitely want to generate some interest. My sales went up a lot since I made the first one only $0.99.
      I want to follow up with a short story as well. I like it when other authors do that so the readers have something to read between bigger novels since they can take so much time to write.
      How is yours going?

      1. I’m working on getting it ready to be published. I’ve got a few steps to do, but it should be ready within the next 2-3 months.

      2. Let me know when. I would love to read it and review. ♥

Leave a reply

