The Back Burner

So lately, I have had to put a couple of ‘works in progress’ on the back burner. I said in a previous Bre Faucheux video that when you are writing a book, you need to finish it in under three months. I stick by this. But then again, I am having problems doing exactly that.

I have a WIP right now that I am so in love with. It is turning into probably a high fantasy type of thing. I feel like I have read enough fantasy lately to be able to write it decently. Not that I am a pro, but descent enough. I have a young heroine in a fantasy world that is so screwed up that it might as well be considered a fantasy dystopian. She is struggling to understand her own place in this world and how to navigate it. And I loving seeing her struggle on through.

At the same time, I am writing short stories under a different name. I have this tiny feeling that those stories might do better than the stories under my Bre Faucheux name. I could be completely wrong about that, but I am following a sales model through someone I am communicating with via KBoards. Only thing is that it will require a lot of my attention in the coming months ahead. Like, practically all of it. I want to work on other things while working on those shorts, and I don’t know how to navigate that sea of confusion as far as following one story line in the morning and writing on that versus another in the afternoon.

Then we get to add on the stress of the daily life of a caretaker situation that is so profoundly bizarre that I was reduced to tears last night. I have tried to make use of government programs to help me out and they literally shut the door in my face and said, “You’re on your own, kid.” Yes, my situation is really strange. I have had doctors tell me that they didn’t even know who to refer me to for help because of my weird circumstances.

Bottom line, I sit down to work most days and don’t know which project to give precedence. A new Elder Origins needed to be written like….yesterday. Then Violet Blake actually started to sell better than it has in months. So I need book three on that pronto. Then I have these shorts under a different pen name that are doing okay but supposedly will do better over time. Then I have this high fantasy that is lustfully luring me back even though I would rather see it traditionally published one day. YEAH! That’s right, I said it. I would like at least ONE book traditionally published before I die.

So there…. that is the mess that’s been in my head for the last two weeks.

To all other authors out there, how do you balance working on multiple things at once? One week on this, another on that? Or do you trudge thing on things then onto the next? Any advice would be appreciated.

5 comments

  1. Hi Bre,
    I’ve always struggled with this, even just with balancing blog posts with my other writing. If I do try to work on multiple projects at once, I try to at least give them each their own day or part of a day. Monday blog posts, Tuesday short story/articles, Friday novel. Of course it’s not the whole day, just whatever I can cram in. My preference, though, is just to work on one thing until it’s finished, but I’m not sure that’s feasible in the writing world.

    1. Hey Jennifer! Long time, no chat!
      Glad to hear that I am not alone in this. I feel like some of my writing woes are so singular to me, and then I get reminded that lots of people have the same issues.
      Sounds like you have a good scheduled lined up. I like to work on one thing until it’s finished, but sometimes my attention span just won’t let me. I am trying a new marketing technique over the next few months that might help me get to working on one thing for a longer time. So let’s cross our fingers.
      Thank you as always for reading and commenting.

  2. Oh, and I’m glad to hear sales are trending upward. That’s always encouraging!

    1. Thank you! I sold five books yesterday and just about lost it. I know that’s not amazing, but it’s a big deal to me since some weeks for a while I was lucky to get one sale.

      1. How exciting. Good luck with the new marketing technique!

Leave a reply

